Movies From The 90s – 1993

Now we’re starting to approach the years when I actually saw movies in the cinema. I went to see two of this list already. Indeed, when I was younger I watched tons of movies in the cinema and most of them alone. It was magical.

It’s a shame the tickets cost a fortune these days. And we don’t even have a cinema in our town now, so I’d also need to add travel expenses to every movie. But I think that it’s probably not just the ticket prices that lured me away from the cinema in the recent decade or so. And not just being busy with RL obligations either. I think in the end I still prefer a cinematic game over a movie, and those games have definitely been popping up lately.

But movies are still great and an art form I appreciate. It’s just not my number one thing anymore.


 
The Appreciated One:

True Romance

trueromance
Score: 8.5
(IMDb score: 8.0)
R

Here we have an unusual romance in an underworld crime movie written by Tarantino and starring around 20 superstars. Christian Slater plays an ordinary dude that gets mixed up with the criminal world while trying to get his crush out of those circles. Like one can expect from Tarantino, there are plenty of delicious characters and dialogue as well as people the viewer will root for amongst all the excess violence and madness.

True Romance didn’t excel in Box Office when it came out but it has risen to be one of the most popular and praised movies of the year.

Genres: Action, Drama, Thriller, Romance


 
The Quality Drama:

The Piano

piano
Score: 8.0
(IMDb score: 7.6)
R

While The Piano truly is a quality drama, it’s actually not a huge favourite of mine. But it has something truly incredible in it, and that’s Anna Paquin. I know lots of people these days are going “Oh, Anna Paquin, I hate her, Sookie is so annoying” or even “her Rogue is so lame” but they are wrong. Even in those statements, but especially dissing Anna Paquin in general. Watch The Piano and see how brilliant she was already this young. I can’t even remember other child roles as captivating as this one. The rest of the movie and the characters are just subplot in my eyes.

Genres: Drama, Historical, Romance


 
The Cult Movie:

The Nightmare Before Christmas

nightmare
Score: 10
(IMDb score: 8.0)
PG

So, Edward Scissorhands wasn’t my favourite Burton movie. Nightmare Before Christmas is. I was rather young when I saw this movie the first time around (actually in the cinema) and while I definitely enjoyed it then, I didn’t consider it a 10/10 movie yet. After a few years I watched it again and then after that again etc. and it just seemed to get better every time.

The sheer amount of work that has been put into this movie is astonishing. One cannot but praise all the artists and technicians. And the actual story is awesome too, not to mention the music. There has been at least a couple of tribute albums out there, and they’re rather excellent.

Nightmare Before Christmas is definitely a piece of art.

Genres: Animation, Fantasy, Horror


 
The Weird One:

Addams Family Values

addams2
Score: 9.0
(IMDb score: 6.6)
PG-13

Yes, I did it. I actually put both of the Addams Family movies on my list. So there.

In the sequel a new baby is born to the family and uncle Fester is getting married. This leaves the two older children feeling left out, and the new bride manages to get them shipped off to a summer camp. As a huge fan of contrast, as well as sarcasm and cheeky humour, I just couldn’t stop laughing at how Wednesday and Pugsley interact with the overly chipper “normal folk”. Christina Ricci manages to steal the show with the role of glum and cunning Wednesday, though Joan Cusack also makes a great villain as Fester’s bride Debbie.

Genres: Comedy, Fantasy


 
The Obscure One:

What’s Eating Gilbert Grape

gilbert
Score: 8.5
(IMDb score: 7.8)
PG-13

What’s Eating Gilbert Grape is a quirky little drama about people living in a small town. Gilbert (Johnny Depp) is a quite normal and nice guy having to take care of his morbidly obese mother and disabled bother (brilliantly portrayed by Leonardo DiCaprio), and as one can imagine, sometimes it really is not easy. Gilbert has his own dreams too and meeting an interesting girl makes him feel the pressure of his obligations even harder.

The movie introduces several different, even weird characters (played by excellent actors), that manage to make a drama about small town life quite surprising and interesting. The story is funny, warm and heart-wrenching.

Genres: Drama

Leave a Reply

