F.A.C.E.S.

faces6
Score: 6.5
(13+)

2011

F.A.C.E.S. is one of those hidden object games, where you get a screen cluttered with all kinds of weird stuff and a list of items to find. It’s not really my favourite gameplay mechanic but I don’t hate it either, especially if it’s used with a twist or rarely among variety of puzzles. Unfortunately in F.A.C.E.S. it is overused, which forces me to give it a less than good score, even though the atmosphere of the game made it a worthwhile play.

Hidden object games are casual games by default. F.A.C.E.S. is also a short game and it’s ending is pretty lacking as well. Still I liked it. There’s just something about creepy sanitariums and conspiracies. The music suits the atmosphere well and the plot itself is pretty interesting. Also, even though those HO-scenes make out the bulk of the gameplay, there are still some nice puzzles in the mix, and exploring the sanitarium is mostly enjoyable. Here and there I was a bit lost what to do next even with a list of objectives, but the explorable area is not large enough to actually get anyone truly stuck.

faces5
Like in most of these casual titles sold by Big Fish Games, there’s a collector’s edition available with an extra playable chapter. I heard it was a nice and creepy chapter about the protagonist’s past but it doesn’t really connect to the main story.

If you like creepy sanitariums that aren’t heart-stopping-scary and don’t mind the hidden object scenes, I’d definitely recommend this title. It is an interesting one in its genre and if I evaluated it purely as a HOG, I’d give it a higher score. But as I’m mostly an adventurer, I just can’t rate this game above the Drawn series. And it’s not likely I’d play many HOGs in the future either.

faces
faces4 faces3 faces2

Leave a Reply

